Patellar Luxation Case

Discussion related to the musculoskeletal system - injuries, post-op, lameness, extremity issues (joint, muscle, tenon, fascia...), axial skeleton issues, etc., as it relates to canine rehabilitation.
lehughes
Site Admin

Patellar Luxation Case

Post by lehughes »

Hello Laurie,

I was wondering if you could help me out with a case. I’m a vet and this is my third case since being certified. Already I seem to be specializing in lateral luxations, my first case was a grade one Frisbee dog and I have been following your exercises for medial lunation-I’m assuming the treatment is the same for lateral. The case that is really challenging me is Punkin a 23 kg slightly pudgy SF 6 year old Huskey mix. She was a rescued as a young dog and has always been lame on her right rear leg, which had never been worked up until last spring as the lameness was becoming more pronounced. She was brought to a boarded surgeon who examined her and reviewed her radiographs. Her assessment, was the femur was abnormally shortened most likely due to a fracture at 2 locations when Punkin was a puppy which healed incorrectly. Her patella is permanently luxated laterally. She does not have a cruciate drawer. The rads showed moderate arthritis of the stifle and there was some possibility of there being less bone density in her distal femur. The greater trochanter appeared stunted and rotated. The surgeon did not consider surgery a viable option.